Personal portfolio

This details the result review for a personal portfolio that I had to design, develop and produce for use on the web or in a CD ROM format. I chose to develop a website but I had a problem choosing a theme. I didn’t know whether I should use simple, clean, minimalist theme or a grunge theme and I decided to use both grunge and minimalist. So I looked at different portfolio websites and chose a couple of layouts that inspired me, fonts, colours and navigation structures. I started on the scamp’s, wire-frames and mock-ups for both themes but when I got to the mock-ups I then decided to go with the minimalist theme because it is calm, relaxing interface is a great relief for users, because the grunge theme didn’t work for me and the minimalist is calm and allows greater creativity.

 I didn’t want a cluttered website, because a minimalist website would be easy and fast to load. I wanted something that would be appealing to the eyes and easy to read and navigate within the site. I used speech bubbles so that the person visiting my website could feel like I am speaking to them directly. I achieved most of the things that I wanted on my website but I still feel I could have done better.  

I wasted most of my time because if I had decided on one theme then I would have had more time. I then had to design my logo which was the most difficult to do because I didn’t know whether I should use my name or use graphics. I think that if I had started earlier on my project and didn’t have to make major changes like I did, I would have come up with a better website with exciting features, but I  am happy with the one that I designed and developed but I could have done better.

 

Personal portfolio

Leave a comment